Geogebra 2

by jrosmith

For the second geogebra, I wanted to do something cool, but quickly found myself limited by my experience with the program. I wanted to create a situation where students could see how Fraunhofer Single Slit Diffraction depended on slit width, wavelength, and distance to the screen, but ended up with a raw simulation only dependent on wavelength and distance to the screen. Ideally I would have added a wave function for the intensity as well, but that was beyond the scope of my abilities given my time constraints this week.

Instead I used a ray model, with a slit width of one micrometer. The distance varies between 1 and 2 meters, and the wavelengths vary from either edge of the optical spectrum. It serves the purpose of allowing students to get a qualitative feel for how maxima and minima vary based on what kind of light is shining through and how far away the screen is, but I really would have liked to add intensity. 

I couldn’t figure out how to rotate the sine function (rotate object about point didn’t seem to work), but in the future I suppose I could feasibly just rotate my canvas and laser instead. 

Obviously this would work well for a class on optics, with the goal of having students feel their way through how light diffracts. PUM did not have a module laid out for optics, so this one was a bit of a solo project.

Here’s the link

